News & Information

Trans-Tasman Victory

July 7, 2008

The New Zealand Universities rowing team has defeated the Australian team in the annual trans-tasman series in commanding style. The mens and womens 8s, lightweight mens 4- and womens 4x- cruised to victory with each crew recording a 3-nil win over their opponents.

At the Sydney Olympic course (SIRC) the winners medals and trophy were presented by Rob Waddell on the same podium on which he stood 8 years earlier after claiming the Olympic 1x title. Rob is in Sydney training for the Olympics with former OURC members Nathan Cohen in the double alongside Hamish Bond in the 4-

The OURC members in the series were:

Womens LW4x-
Catherine Van Gessel
Kate French

Mens LW4-
Richard Sharp
Alistair Bond

Womens 8+
Bess Halley
Meg Wilson
Laura Tester
Sarah Van Bellekom
Sian Jones-White
Aynsley Moore Cox

Mens 8+
Matthew McGovern
Dougal MacDuff
Campbell Lowe
Michael Dessoulavy Cox
Nick Phillips Coach

Lookout for photos of the racing in the gallery.

View in other format