News & Information

Women Win In China

July 24, 2013

The Otago University Womens Eight have won their final in China. The crew started the final in similar fashion to the heat, with the starting line uneven despite being a held start (the crew starting a canvas behind again). Despite this initial setback the crew had a better start than the heat and managed to be 3rd equal with Yale at 100m with Paris and London only a half length ahead.

Through the 500 meter mark in 3rd place, Otago moved to narrow the deficit on the London and Paris crews and were able to draw even. London and Paris were the two challengers and a tight race developed until the 1000m mark where Otago and Paris moved away from London.

The final 1000m was a tight battle for first but with crew calls, a wind at the finish and pure fitness, the Otago crew came home with the title eventually finishing a length in front of the Parisian crew.

The crew have now moved on to Wuhan and are racing two 1 km races on Thursday morning (China Time)

The winning crew was:

Jessica Hayes (stroke)
Kirsty Thompson
Laura Tester
Ruby Tew
Rachael Kennedy
Holly Fletcher
Lauren Clark
Morgan Shepherd (Bow)
Hannah Kennedy (cox)

Natalie Matheson (coach)

news photo

The crew after their win

View in other format