News & Information

Womens 8 Depart For China

July 17, 2013

The Otago University Rowing Club womens 8 has departed for China today. They will be competing in an international universities regatta in Chengdu and Wuhan. This is the first time womens crews have raced at this regatta. Otago has had a strong presence in the regatta over the last 4 years with mens crews competing from 2009 to 2012 gaining a 1st, 2nd and 3rd place finish in 2009, 2010 and 2011 respectively. The crew has been training heavily for the last few months and are eager to race and put Otagos womens rowing on the map too.

More updates on racing will be made throughout the tour.

The crew is:

Rachael Kennedy (stroke)
Morgan Shepherd
Kirsty Thompson
Ruby Tew
Laura Tester
Holly Fletcher
Lauren Clark
Jess Hayes (Bow)

Nicky Shanks (Reserve)
Hannah Kennedy (Cox)

Natalie Matheson (Coach)

View in other format